Chinese New Year, which begins on 28 January 2017 and ends on 15 February 2018, will stand under the sign of the fire rooster, the symbol of a new beginning. 

In Chinese tradition, the animal governing the year that a man is born, has a strong influence on that person’s personality. It is said its “the animal that hides in the depths of the soul.”

The Chinese will celebrate with fireworks, red dresses and delicious food. The event, which is also called the “Spring Festival”, is a day of thanksgiving and gratitude for the good things received in the year that has ended.

According to traditional Chinese astrology, 2017 is characterized by stability, order, hard work, reconstruction, progress and maximum integrity. 

It will start as a very good year for those born in the year of the dragon and goat, a good year for those born in the years of the rat and horse, money will come into the lives of those born in the year of the snake, wild ox and monkey, and it will be a challenge for those born in the year of the rabbit , dog and pig.

The rooster, who will govern in 2017, is a proud and optimistic character, the one that heralds the beginning of a new day for humanity. Under the sign of ambition and determination, those born in the year of the Fire Rooster, have a huge potential for success in virtually any career they choose. 

They may be bankers, accountants, managers or financial advisors, because they have a clear inclination towards finance and an obvious talent for working with numbers. People born under this sign are distinguished by their elegant style, sincerity and creativity, are good orators and organizers and have a special charm. 

Natural leaders, honest, pedantic, accurate in assessment and have a well developed sense of observation. They like to be in the spotlight and to receive compliments, are brave, intelligent and never complain. Their best quality is a sense of dignity and order.

The holiday table should be covered with a linen tablecloth in a rustic style, and the house to be decorated with candles, knick-knacks, things made of withe, wood and many toys. It is necessary to respect the classic style and order. The rooster doesn’t like the artistic vanguard and chaos.

The favorite colors this year are gold, yellow and brown. In 2017, wearing red is not recommended, because it tends to increase impulsivity and through you off balance mentally and spiritually.

According to the Chinese calendar, each year is considered as the period when the moon makes 12 revolutions around the Earth, each rotation lasting a month. “Spring Holiday” symbolizes the end of winter and beginning of spring, and is held annually at different dates, depending on the position of the moon from the sun. 

Recommended articles:
Chinese Lantern Festival: Celebrating The Coming of The New Year
Imperial Self-reflection Brings the First Golden Age in Chinese History

According to the Gregorian calendar, this happens not until 21 January and no later than 19 February. Since 1911, China uses the Gregorian calendar, but traditions are guided solely on the Chinese calendar, in all communities.

The Chinese calendar is the oldest chronological record in history. The begining of this form of time measurement dates from the 14th century BC, and the legend says the inventor is Emperor Huangdi, in 2637 BC. 

The calendar is based on exact astronomical observations of the lunar phases. The explanation for the use of animal names for designating the years is still in the realm of legend. 

It is said that before leaving earth, Buddha invited all the animals to say goodbye to him. Unfortunately, only 12 have appeared, and in gratitude, Buddha decided each year to receive the name of an animal, and those born in the year in question to inherit some of that animal’s characteristic.

The 12 animals that make up a calendar cycle are: rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, goat, monkey, rooster, dog and pig. Each sign is associated, in turn, with one of the five fundamental elements of the universe: wood, fire, earth, metal, water. A complete cycle means five cycles of 12 years each, i.e. 60 years.

The New Year is by far the most important Chinese holiday. According to Chinese folk customs, the celebration lasts until the 15th of the first month, marking the “Lantern Festival”. The atmosphere of celebration culminates on the last night of the last year and the first day of the first month of the New Year.

In China there are 56 ethnic communities, each with different traditions in connection with the New Year, but for all, the New Year dinner is an important moment for the family. Wherever they are, all family members are trying to return to the parental home to get together for the last meal of the year. There are historical records according to which, even those punished by imprisonment were released for New Year’s Eve to be with their family.

In southern China, this meal is rich, usually comprising of over 10 dishes and good quality soy cheese and fish, the symbols of wealth. The most important dish is the dumplings. The dumpling with a coin inside is a sign of good luck in the coming year for the one who finds it.

Midnight is marked by hundreds of fireworks (in big cities they are prohibited), which is believed to drive away evil spirits. Reportedly, according to tradition, the first man who can first light the fire crackers has the right to be the first who starts working in the field, and that the coming year he will enjoy an abundant harvest. 

You must stay awake all night because, according to tradition, if you stay up the night of the New Year, you’ll live longer.

On the first day of the New Year, people wear new clothes, make or receive visits from relatives and friends. They say to each other Xin Nian Hao ( “Happy New Year!”). Afterwards, guests are invited to serve candy, fruit and tea.

Recommended articles:
Talk of Roosters in the Year of the Rooster
A Crash Course on Chinese New Year
China’s Wings – CNAC and the U.S. Air Force